RSS

The pick up

14 Sep

Here is where I wait for you,

The smell of evergreen filling my nostrils

Yet toxic fumes are produced

While I stay nestled safely inside

Siting,

Staring

At your front door

From the gray monstrosity on wheels.

My gaze flows

From the empty gray upholstered passenger seat

To the dirt path in front of the stairs

Of which lead my eye down your hilly yard

And to the façade of your green,

Modern,

Home.

Again,

I stare

Waiting for that movement

Barely visibly behind the screen door.

Impatience befalls me

My stare breaks.

I look to my left

At the home of your former lover

Taking note of a car

I have never seen before

Shiny,

Baby blue,

A prius,

An Earthsaver

Getting forty miles to the gallon.

Is it hers?

Trying to save the earth?

Remind me to ask you.

Impatience runs rampant

As if we were back in high school again

And we might be late to school

As we had been so many times.

I proceed into my pocket

Searching for my phone

To call and hurry you along

As I do every time impatience compels.

But there you are,

That slight,

Almost invisible,

Movement behind the screen

Before you appear.

Finally.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2011 in Poetry

 

Leave a Reply

 
